NIFVS is not a crisis response service – if in immediate danger phone 000 or Get Help
Northern Integrated Family
Violence Services Partnership
For professionals supporting the
safety of victim survivors in Melbourne's
northern metropolitan region

Mandatory Minimum Qualification Update

On 1 July 2021, the Victorian Government introduced the new Mandatory Minimum Qualification policy for workers who enter the family violence sector as specialist family violence practitioners, which is being delivered over a five-year transition period. All specialist family violence practitioners employed before the transition phase starts are exempt from the requirement for the duration of their continuous service.

Family Safety Victoria has worked in partnership with the Higher Education sector to map available qualifications against the seven equivalency principles as outlined in the Mandatory Minimum Qualifications policy.

This mapping demonstrates the breadth of disciplines and qualifications that may partially or fully meet the equivalency principles, and highlights the variety of alternative qualifications to the Bachelor of Social Work, that prospective practitioners, or practitioners who are working towards equivalency can undertake. The Qualifications Mapping document can be found under Resources.

Employers will be supported through the five-year transition period with advice from Safe & Equal through the appointment of an 18-month Sector Development Advisor position, and a range of resources and information forums.

(Source: Family Safety Victoria, 15.12.21)